Foster Youth

Think you can't go to college?
Think again.

Passport to College

The state of Washington has created the Passport to College Promise Scholarship for foster youth like you. This program is designed to encourage you to prepare for and succeed in college.

Am I eligible?

You are eligible for this program if:

  • You were a dependent of the state of Washington and in foster care on your 18th birthday.
  • You spent at least one year in care after your sixteenth birthday.
  • You emancipated from foster care on or after January 1, 2007.
  • You are a Washington resident.
  • You will be enrolled at least half-time in an eligible college by the time you turn 22.
  • You have not earned a bachelor's degree.

The Washington State Achievement Council, in conjunction with DSHS, will determine eligibility for this funding source.

Follow this link to apply: www.readysetgrad.org/college/passport-foster-youth-promise-program

For more information, please call 1-888-535-0747 (press option 5)
Or e-mail: passporttocollege@wsac.wa.gov

Colleges will confirm your eligibility when you enroll.

Identify yourself as a former foster youth with the admissions office and financial aid office.

Need help applying? Please contact Angela Millhouse – SCC Designated Support Staff

Primary Designated Support Staff:

Angela Millhouse, Passport to College Program Coordinator
Student Success and Career Services
Lair Building 6
Office: 06-0112
Phone: (509) 533-7345
Email: Angela.Millhouse@scc.spokane.edu

Additional Designated Support Staff:

Jennifer Achziger, Financial Aid
Student Services (Building 15)
Office: 15-128
Phone: (509) 533-7021
Email: Jennifer.Achziger@scc.spokane.edu

Krysta Betts, Passport Special Projects Coordinator
Financial Aid, Student Services (Building 15)
Office: 15-129
Phone: (509) 533-8094
Email: Krysta.Betts@scc.spokane.edu

Suzanne Denison, Manager
Student Success and Career Services
Lair, Building 6
Office: 06-0112B
Phone: (509) 533-8009
Email: Suzanne.Denison@scc.spokane.edu

Carmen Green, Counselor
Jenkins Wellness Center (Building 7)
Office: 07-0135
Phone: (509) 533-7195
Email: Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu

Francine Lamb, Program Coordinator
Student Success and Career Services
Lair, Building 6
Office: 06-0112C
Phone: (509) 533-8655
Email: Francine.Lamb@scc.spokane.edu

Deanna Ortiz, Counselor
Jenkins Wellness Center (Building 7)
Office: 09-0134B
Phone: (509) 533-7034
Email: Deanna.Ortiz@scc.spokane.edu

Zoya Zhuk, Financial Aid
Student Services (Building 15)
Office: 15-133
Phone: (509) 533-8189
Email: Zoya.Zhuk@scc.spokane.edu

© 1997-2014 Spokane Community College All rights reserved