ctcLink

Heavy Equipment

A big advantage of the diesel/heavy equipment repair field is that there are job opportunities all over the world. Spokane Community College graduates trained in this field have gone to work in Alaska, Hawaii and all over the West Coast.

SCC's two-year diesel/heavy duty equipment program is one of the finest in the West. It offers in-depth technical training on a wide range of heavy equipment. The program combines classroom instruction with hands-on, practical experience. Students work with industry standard equipment in spacious, modern shop areas. The training they receive prepares them for employment in the fields of heavy construction, mining, logging, agriculture and trucking. Students who successfully complete the program receive an associate in applied science (A.A.S.) degree.

Program Features

  • Understand the construction, function and service of heavy duty vehicle components;
  • Diagnose mechanical and performance problems;
  • Operate precision repair and diagnostic equipment;
  • Welding;
  • Interpret repair manuals;
  • Basic shop operation; and
  • Dealing with customers, employers and fellow employees.

View the program guide for detailed description and requirements.

Browse additional programs in the CCS Online Catalog.
All course offerings are subject to change. The college cannot guarantee class offerings, designated times or specific instructors - as funding levels and student interest may affect whether or not an offering is available.

Click on the course title to view course description.

Course Title Credits
For more information... For more information:
Counseling Contact: Ric Villalobos, M.S., Counselor
Email: Ric.Villalobos@scc.spokane.edu
Phone: (509) 533-7356 or
(800) 248-5644 ext. 7356
Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
Buit, Theodore; Adjunct Faculty (509) 533-7112 019- Theodore.Buit@scc.spokane.edu
Cluphf, Russel; Faculty (509) 533-8393 019-0102A Russel.Cluphf@scc.spokane.edu
Conery, Todd; Faculty (509) 533-7119 019-0146 Todd.Conery@scc.spokane.edu
Daratha, Adrienne; Office Assistant III (509) 533-7112 019-0101 Adrienne.Daratha@scc.spokane.edu
Franklin, Mark; Faculty (509) 533-8023 019-0119A Mark.Franklin@scc.spokane.edu
Fredrickson, Jerry; PT Instructor (509) 533-7112 019-0102 Jerry.Fredrickson@scc.spokane.edu
Livingston, Tony; Faculty (509) 533-7122 019-0136B Tony.Livingston@scc.spokane.edu
Marker, Patrick; Faculty (509) 533-7112 019- Patrick.Marker@scc.spokane.edu
Ross, Stephen; PT Instructor (509) 533-7112 019-0102 Stephen.Ross@scc.spokane.edu
Wright, Brannon; Annualized Faculty (509) 533-7123 019-0122C Brannon.Wright@scc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

HEQ 112 - Heavy Equipment Electrical Application

Heavy equipment (photo 1) Heavy equipment (photo 2)
Heavy equipment (photo 3) Heavy equipment (photo 4)

HEQ 122 - Heavy Equipment Engine Application

Heavy equipment (photo 1) Heavy equipment (photo 2)
Heavy equipment (photo 3) Heavy equipment (photo 4)

HEQ 242 - Heavy Equipment Hydraulic Application

Heavy equipment (photo 1) Heavy equipment (photo 2)
Heavy equipment (photo 3) Heavy equipment (photo 4)

HEQ 252/262 - Heavy Equipment Practical Shop Application

Heavy equipment (photo 1) Heavy equipment (photo 2)
Heavy equipment (photo 3) Heavy equipment (photo 4)