Counseling and Mental Health Services

SCC counseling faculty work with you to offer support and direction with your educational, personal, and professional goals. Counselors also may provide short-term mental health counseling for a variety of challenges.

However, if the problem is of an intense psychological nature, the counselor will refer you to an appropriate agency outside of Spokane Community College. Students may also be referred to masters-level mental health interns at SCC for therapy.

Please view our Confidentiality Statement for more information.

Reasons to Seek Help

  • Career counseling, exploration and decision making
  • Academic advising and educational planning
  • Managing transfers to a four-year university
  • Services for disability and multicultural concerns
  • Personal growth and self esteem issues such as:
    • Stress management
    • Time management
    • Social and relationship concerns
    • Anger management
    • Anxiety, grief, and loss
    • Military and combat-related stress
    • Feelings of depression

Our supervised interns offer free therapy to CCS students for ongoing mental health issues, such as:

  • Substance abuse concerns
  • Couples therapy
  • Family therapy
  • Problematic eating patterns
  • Gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender concerns
  • Sexual assault/rape

Academic Standards Workshop Online

Access the Online Workshop for students who are on academic warning. For information about on-ground workshops, please contact Carmen Green, Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu or (509)533-7195

Choose the right counselor for your academic program. If you are undecided, pick an area of interest and begin with that program counselor.

Transfer Center

Hours: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location: Building 1, Room 1220J (A on map)
Office Phone: (509) 533-8215
Fax: (509) 533-7020
Gretchen Ford, M.Ed., LMHC
Running Start Liaison, University Transfer Counselor
Gretchen.Ford@scc.spokane.edu
Cathy Shaffer, M.A., LMHC
Department Chair, University Transfer Counselor
Cathy.Shaffer@scc.spokane.edu

Multicultural Center

Hours: Varies
Location: Building 6, Room 115C (B on map)
Office Phone: (509) 533-7032
Fax: (509) 533-8266
Ruth Silverthorne, M.Ed.
Multicultural Specialist
Ruth.Silverthorne@scc.spokane.edu

Allied Health & Nursing

Hours: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Location: Building 9, Room 134A (C on map)
Fax: (509) 533-8621
Georgeanna Conrad, M.Ed.
Counselor, Health Science
Georgeanna.Conrad@scc.spokane.edu
Deanna Ortiz, Ph.D. - Health Science Counselor, Interim Mental Health Supervisor
Deanna.Ortiz@scc.spokane.edu

Jenkins Wellness Center

Location: Building 7, Room 122 (D on map)
Fax: (509) 533-8096
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday: 9:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Carmen Green, M.A., LMFT, LMHC
Mental Health Supervisor
Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu
Room 127, (509) 533-7195

Cara Seely, Intern
cseely@scc.spokane.edu

Amy Zora, Intern
azora@scc.spokane.edu

Megan Carlson, Intern
Room 135
Megan.Carlson@scc.spokane.edu

Danielle Porter, Intern
Danielle.Porter@scc.spokane.edu

Erika Miley, Intern
Room 135
Erika.Miley@scc.spokane.edu

Aaron Gonzales, Intern
Aaron.Gonzales@scc.spokane.edu

Student Services

Hours: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Location: Building 15, Room 120 (E on map)
Office Phone: (509) 533-7026
Fax: (509) 533-8839
Michelle Gendusa
Counselor, Part-Time
Michelle.Gendusa@scc.spokane.edu
Rebecca Goss, M.A., LMHC
Business Division Counselor
Rebecca.Goss@scc.spokane.edu
Bill Rambo, M.S.
University Transfer Counselor
Bill.Rambo@scc.spokane.edu
Ric Villalobos, M.S.
Environmental Sciences Prof Tech Counselor
Ric.Villalobos@scc.spokane.edu
   
 
(map)

  

Conrad, Georgeanna; Counselor
Conrad, Georgeanna; Counselor
Office: 9-134A
Phone: (509) 533-8622


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Dalton, Cheryl 
Dalton, Cheryl 
Office: 7-100J
Phone: (509) 533-8323


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Ford, Gretchen; Counselor
Ford, Gretchen; Counselor
Office: 01-1220Q
Phone: (509) 533-8062


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Goss, Rebecca; Faculty Counselor
Goss, Rebecca; Faculty Counselor
Office: 15-120J
Phone: (509) 533-8449


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Green, Carmen; Counselor
Green, Carmen; Counselor
Office: 7-127
Phone: (509) 533-7195


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Ortiz, Deanna; Faculty
Ortiz, Deanna; Faculty
Office: 9-134B
Phone: (509) 533-7034


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Rambo, Bill; Counselor
Rambo, Bill; Counselor
Office: 15-111C
Phone: (509) 533-7038


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Shaffer, Cathy; Counselor
Shaffer, Cathy; Counselor
Office: 01-1220P
Phone: (509) 533-8037


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Villalobos, Ric; Counselor
Villalobos, Ric; Counselor
Office: 15-111i
Phone: (509) 533-7356


Error: Could not find a part of the path 'S:\Web Sites\SCCWeb_Standardized_Kamori_9003\Apps\FacultyBios.xml'.
 
Print Page