search this site
Go
Go

Counseling and
Mental Health Services

SCC counseling faculty work with you to offer support and direction with your educational, personal, and professional goals. Counselors also may provide short-term mental health counseling for a variety of challenges.

However, if the problem is of an intense psychological nature, the counselor will refer you to an appropriate agency outside of Spokane Community College. Students may also be referred to masters-level mental health interns at SCC for therapy.

Please view our Confidentiality Statement for more information.

Reasons to Seek Help

  • Career counseling, exploration and decision making
  • Academic advising and educational planning
  • Managing transfers to a four-year university
  • Services for disability and multicultural concerns
  • Personal growth and self esteem issues such as:
    • Stress management
    • Time management
    • Social and relationship concerns
    • Anger management
    • Anxiety, grief, and loss
    • Military and combat-related stress
    • Feelings of depression

Our supervised interns offer free therapy to CCS students for ongoing mental health issues, such as:

  • Substance abuse concerns
  • Couples therapy
  • Family therapy
  • Problematic eating patterns
  • Gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender concerns
  • Sexual assault/rape
Jenkins Wellness Center
Location: Building 7, Room 122 (D on map)
Fax: 509-533-8096
Carmen Green, M.A., LMFT, LMHC
Mental Health Supervisor
Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu
Room 127
533-7195

Cara Seely, Intern
Cara.Seely@scc.spokane.edu

Amy Zora, Intern
Amy.Zora@scc.spokane.edu

Megan Carlson, Intern
Room 135
Megan.Carlson@scc.spokane.edu

Danielle Porter, Intern
Danielle.Porter@scc.spokane.edu

Erika Miley, Intern
Room 135
Erika.Miley@scc.spokane.edu

Aaron Gonzales, Intern
Aaron.Gonzales@scc.spokane.edu
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:30-4:30
Friday: 9:30-12:30
Destination Eastern

Academic Standards Workshop Online

Access the Online Workshop for students who are on academic warning. For information about on-ground workshops, please contact Carmen Green, Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu or (509)533-7195

Counseling Sites

Choose the right counselor for your academic program. If you are undecided, pick an area of interest and begin with that program counselor.

Transfer Center - Hours: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Location: Building 1, Room 1220J (A on map)
Office Phone: 509-533-8215
Fax: 509-533-7020
Gretchen Ford, M.Ed., LMHC
Running Start Liaison, University Transfer Counselor
Gretchen.Ford@scc.spokane.edu
Cathy Shaffer, M.A., LMHC
Department Chair, University Transfer Counselor
Cathy.Shaffer@scc.spokane.edu
Multicultural Center - Hours: Varies
Location: Building 6, Room 115C (B on map)
Office Phone: 509-533-7032
Fax: 509-533-8266
Ruth Silverthorne, M.Ed.
Multicultural Specialist
Ruth.Silverthorne@scc.spokane.edu
Allied Health & Nursing - Hours: 8:30am - 3:00pm
Location: Building 9, Room 134A (C on map)
Fax: 509-533-8621
Georgeanna Conrad, M.Ed.
Counselor, Health Science
Georgeanna.Conrad@scc.spokane.edu
Deanna Ortiz, Ph.D. - Health Science Counselor, Interim Mental Health Supervisor
Deanna.Ortiz@scc.spokane.edu
Student Services - Hours: 7:30am - 3:30pm
Location: Building 15, Room 120 (E on map)
Office Phone: 509-533-7026
Fax: 509-533-8839
Michelle Gendusa
Counselor, Part-Time
Michelle.Gendusa@scc.spokane.edu
Rebecca Goss, M.A., LMHC
Business Division Counselor
Rebecca.Goss@scc.spokane.edu
Bill Rambo, M.S.
University Transfer Counselor
Bill.Rambo@scc.spokane.edu
Ric Villalobos, M.S.
Environmental Sciences Prof Tech Counselor
Ric.Villalobos@scc.spokane.edu
   

(map)

  


Spokane Community College
1810 N. Greene St.
Spokane, WA 99217-5399
For general information call:
509-533-7000 or
1-800-248-5644
© 1997-2014
Spokane Community College
All rights reserved